Product detail

The Doctor of Thessaly

The Doctor of Thessaly

Author: Anne Zouroudi
Series: The Mysteries of the Greek Detective
$18.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

ENVY, REVENGE AND RETRIBUTION IN THE THRILLING NEW INSTALMENT OF THE MYSTERIES OF THE GREEK DETECTIVE SERIES My first question must be, why do you want no investigation? If some malicious person has robbed you - as you believe - of your precious sight, why do you not want that person caught, tried and punished for their crime? A jilted bride weeps on an empty beach, a local doctor is attacked in an isolated churchyard - trouble has come at a bad time to Morfi, just as the backwater village is making headlines with a visit from a government minister. Fortunately, where there's trouble there's Hermes Diaktoros, the mysterious fat man whose tennis shoes are always pristine and whose methods are always unorthodox. Hermes must solve a brutal crime, thwart the petty machinations of the town's ex-mayor and pour oil on the troubled waters of a sisters' relationship - but how can he solve a mystery that not even the victim wants to be solved?...

Promotion info

With a strong and intriguing central character, Hermes Diaktoros the Greek Detective, these mysteries are set to capture a new legion of fans of cosy crime For fans of Agatha Christie, Alexander McCall Smith and Andrea Camilleri - and for anyone who loves the Greek islands The Messenger of Athens was WHSmith's Travel Read of the Week, longlisted for the Desmond Elliot prize and shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Breakthrough Authors

Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE TAINT OF MIDAS: 'More transported Agatha Christie here, this time to a Greek island setting with modern land-grabbing by unscrupulous developers ... It's good news for readers that there are five more sins to go, because Diaktoros is a delight. Half Poirot, half deus ex machina ... a cracking plot, colourful local characters and descriptions of the hot, dry countryside so strong that you can almost see the heat haze and hear the cicadas - the perfect read to curl up with as the nights draw in' - Guardian PRAISE FOR THE MESSENGER OF ATHENS: 'This powerfully atmospheric mystery embraces Mediterranean passion, mythic meddling and patriarchal persecution. First-time novelist Anne Zouroudi proves a natural at the dark arts of writing Euro-crime' - Independent 'This is a fantastic tale of passion, corruption and murder on a remote Greek island' - Woman's Own 'Absorbing and beautifully written and reveals the savage, superstitious reality behind the pretty facade that is all that most of us know of any Greek island' - Literary Review

Author description

Anne Zouroudi was born in England and has lived in the Greek islands. Her attachment to Greece remains strong, and the country is the inspiration for much of her writing. She now lives in the Derbyshire Peak District with her son.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408821275
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : 0.183
  • : December 2011
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 16mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Anne Zouroudi
  • : 256
  • : 823.92
  • : 112
  • : Paperback