Product detail

The Constant Soldier

The Constant Soldier

Author: William Ryan
$24.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

'Haunting, passionate, William Ryan's The Constant Soldier is a subtle WW2 thriller of horror and love with an utterly gripping countdown to Gotterdamerung. One of my favourites of the year' Simon Sebag Montefiore 1944. Paul Brandt, a soldier in the German army, returns wounded and ashamed from the bloody chaos of the Eastern front to find his village home much changed and existing in the dark shadow of an SS rest hut - a luxurious retreat for those who manage the concentration camps, run with the help of a small group of female prisoners who - against all odds - have so far survived the war. When, by chance, Brandt glimpses one of these prisoners, he realizes that he must find a way to access the hut. For inside is the woman to whom his fate has been tied since their arrest five years before, and now he must do all he can to protect her. But as the Russian offensive moves ever closer, the days of this rest hut and its SS inhabitants are numbered. And while hope - for Brandt and the female prisoners - grows tantalizingly close, the danger too is now greater than ever. And, in a forest to the east, a young female Soviet tank driver awaits her orders to advance ...

Promotion info

A gripping, powerful tale of love and survival set against the final bitter weeks of the Nazi regime. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom's Winter in Madrid.

Awards

Shortlisted for Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards: Book of the Year 2016.

Author description

William Ryan was called to the English bar after university in Dublin, then worked as a lawyer in the City. His crime novels The Holy Thief, The Bloody Meadow and The Twelfth Department, set in 1930s Stalinist Russia, have been shortlisted for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award, the CWA New Blood Dagger, the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, the Irish Fiction Award, and twice for the Ireland AM Irish Crime Novel of the Year Award. His books have been translated into over a dozen languages. William is married and lives in west London. The Constant Soldier is a standalone novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781447255062
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Pan Books
  • : June 2017
  • : 197mm X 130mm X 24mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : William Ryan
  • : 400
  • : 823.92
  • : Main Market Ed.
  • : Paperback