Product detail

The Whispers of Nemesis

The Whispers of Nemesis

Author: Anne Zouroudi
Series: The Mysteries of the Greek Detective
$36.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

It is winter in the mountains of northern Greece and as the snow falls in the tiny village of Vrisi a coffin is unearthed and broken open. But to the astonishment of the mourners at the graveside, the remains inside the coffin have been transformed, and as news of the bizarre discovery spreads through the village like forest fire it sets tongues wagging and heads shaking. Then, in the shadow of the shrine of St Fanourios (patron saint of lost things), a body is found, buried under the fallen snow - a body whose identity only deepens the mystery around the exhumed remains. There's talk of witchcraft, and the devil's work - but it seems the truth, behind both the body and the coffin, may be far stranger than the villagers' wildest imaginings. Hermes Diaktoros, drawn to the mountains by a wish to see an old and dear friend, finds himself embroiled in the mysteries of Vrisi, as well as the enigmatic last will and testament of Greece's most admired modern poet. The Whispers of Nemesis is a story of desperate measures and long-kept secrets, of murder and immortality and of pride coming before the steepest of falls.

Promotion info
With a strong and intriguing central character, Hermes Diaktoros the Greek Detective, these mysteries are set to capture a new legion of fans of cosy crime For fans of Agatha Christie, Alexander McCall Smith and Andrea Camilleri - and for anyone who loves the Greek islands The Messenger of Athens was WHSmith's Travel Read of the Week, longlisted for the Desmond Elliot prize and shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Breakthrough Authors
Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE MYSTERIES OF THE GREEK DETECTIVE 'Anne Zouroudi writes beautifully - her books have all the sparkle and light of the island landscapes in which she sets them. The Lady of Sorrows, her latest, is a gorgeous treat ... Lovely, delicious prose and plot - as tasty as one of those irresistible honey-soaked Greek confections' Alexander McCall Smith 'A cracking plot, colourful local characters and descriptions of the hot, dry countryside so strong that you can almost see the heat haze and hear the cicadas - the perfect read to curl up with' Guardian 'Absorbing and beautifully written and reveals the savage, superstitious reality behind the pretty facade that is all that most of us know of any Greek island' Literary Review 'Diaktoros is a delight. Half Poirot, half deus ex machina, but far more earth-bound than his first name suggests, the portly detective has an other-worldly, Marlowesque incorruptibility as he waddles through the mean olive groves' Guardian

Author description

Anne Zouroudi was born in England and has lived in the Greek islands. Her attachment to Greece remains strong, and the country is the inspiration for much of her writing. She now lives in the Derbyshire Peak District with her son. She is the author of four other Mysteries of the Greek Detective: The Messenger of Athens (shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Breakthrough Authors and longlisted for the Desmond Elliot Prize), The Taint of Midas, The Doctor of Thessaly and The Lady of Sorrows.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408818190
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : July 2011
  • : 234mm X 153mm X 22mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : Anne Zouroudi
  • : 304
  • : 823.92